Temple women’s basketball players honored with multiple Big 5 awards

Alliya Butts, Mia Davis, Marissa Mackins and Emani Mayo will all be awarded at the Big 5 award ceremony at the Palestra on Monday, April 15.

Sophomore forward Mia Davis passes the ball during Temple's 75-61 win against Delaware State University at McGonigle Hall on Nov. 6. | GENEVA HEFFERNAN / THE TEMPLE NEWS

The Big 5 women’s basketball awards were announced on Thursday and Temple women’s basketball claimed four different winners.

Former guard Allyia Butts and sophomore forward Mia Davis were named to the All-Big 5 team. Freshman guard Marissa Mackins was named the Big 5 Rookie of the Year and Sophomore guard Emani Mayo was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Butts finished the season with 15.2 points per game, 4.8 assists per game and 2.0 steals per game. The former guard lead the Owls in assists and steals per game this season and finished second on the team in scoring.

Butts becomes the Temple player to be named an All-Big 5 honoree in four straight years since Marilyn Stephens-Franklyn who played from 1981-84.

Davis earned her first ever All-Big 5 selection this season while leading the Owls in scoring with 18.9 points per game. Davis also led Temple in rebounds per game with 9.1 per game. She scored a new career high 33 points at home against Houston on Feb. 5.

Mackins becomes the fourth Owls player all-time to win the Big 5 Rookie of the Year Award and first since her teammate Alliya Butts in 2015. The freshman guard averaged 8.7 points per game and ranked second on the team with 70 assists. Mackins performed well against Big 5 opponents averaging 14 points per game.

Emani Mayo is the first ever Temple player to win the Scholar Athlete of the Year award. Mayo, a business major, finished with the highest GPA on the team. Mayo made 25 starts this season and finished averaging 4.7 points per game and 3.4 rebounds per game.

The Big 5 award ceremony will be held on Monday, April 15 at 6 p.m at the Palestra.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.